Awkward.

MTV’s newest foray into the half hour comedy follows Jenna Hamilton through her trials and tribulations in high school. She starts out as something of a nobody but after an accident garners some unwanted attention in school, she finds herself at the center of attention.

Like with the network’s series The Hard Time of RJ Berger, Jenna has a mother who is more obssessed with sex and good lucks than being a mother with good advice. The school guidance counselor is little better. (Only Jenna’s father seems to be at all sensible though he is hardly in the show so it barely counts.)

In school Jenna must contend with the boy she likes who slept with her and then ignored her and an overweight cheerleader who is out to get her (though the reason is unclear at first).

The show is funny and clever in a way that its other recent TV shows have not been lately. I can’t pretend to love the voice overs (meant to be lines from Jenna’s blog “Awkward.”), as I generally dislike them unless they are extremely well integrated into the show. But aside from that, I don’t really have any complaints.

One Response to “Awkward.”

  1. Rah Says:

    I think that this is truly an awesome show. Awkward is the first MTV show I can actually stand to watch! I know that is pretty bad but I find Jenna funny and I love her personality in the show. I can’t wait to see what they have coming up in the show. I hope more good because nothing has been bad.


Leave a Reply

