Canceled Shows 2011

With a disappointing year of new pilots and some weaker returning shows, a number of series have been canceled (and will be canceled in the coming days) to make room for new shows. The canceled shows announced so far are:

  • 18 to Life
  • 100 Questions
  • $#*! My Dad Says
  • All My Children
  • America’s Most Wanted
  • America’s Next Great Restaurant
  • As the World Turns
  • At the Movies
  • Batman: Brave and Bold
  • Better With You (I really disliked this pilot but the show grew on me)
  • Big Love (I only just discovered this but it is fanastic)
  • Break Through with Tony Robbins
  • Breaking In
  • Brothers & Sisters (This show started out so strong and had some of the best chemistry and acting on TV but eventually the storylines got tired and some of the characters got irritating)
  • Caprica
  • Chaos (This felt like it couldn’t find the balance between comedic and dramatic)
  • Chase
  • Countdown with Keith Olbermann
  • Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior (I love Janeane Garfolo but this show focused too little on the actual cast and too much on the mystery of the week)
  • Dark Blue
  • Dating in the Dark
  • Defenders
  • Detroit 187
  • Downfall
  • Eastbound & doWN
  • Entourage
  • Friday Night Lights
  • Glory Daze
  • Gravity
  • Hannah Montana
  • Hellcats
  • Huge
  • Human Target (Poor characterization kept me from ever enjoying this show)
  • I’m in the Band
  • Important Things with Demetri Martin
  • In Treatment
  • Jonas: LA
  • Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List
  • Larry King Live
  • Last Comic Standing
  • Law & Order: Criminal Intent
  • Law & Order: Los Angelos
  • Lie to Me (I liked this show best when it focused on the characters but sometimes it was too procedural for my taste)
  • Life Unexpected (I loved elements of this show and its focus on adoption but thought it lost focus at times)
  • Lights Out
  • Live to Dance
  • Lone Star
  • Losing It with Jillian
  • Mad Love (Shame, I really liked this one)
  • Medium
  • Million Dollar Money Drop
  • Mr. Sunshine (I think I liked this more for the actors involved than the actual show)
  • My Boys
  • My Generation
  • No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency
  • No Ordinary Family (I liked this show somewhat but it never found the right tone)
  • Off the Map (This is one of the shows I liked more and was most disappointed to hear canceled)
  • One Life to Live
  • Outlaw
  • Outsourced (Had its ups and downs, was always better when not making a huge deal of the cultural differences)
  • Perfect Couples (I hear it got better but I found the first couple episodes irredeemable)
  • Persons Unknown
  • Players
  • Rescue Me
  • Rubicon
  • Running Wilde (Never as funny as it should have been)
  • School Pride
  • Scoundrels (shame)
  • Secret Diary of a Call Girl
  • Shaq vs.
  • Shedding for the Wedding
  • Skating with the Stars
  • Smallville
  • Sonny with a Chance
  • Stargate Universe
  • Supernanny
  • Terriers
  • The Bridge
  • The Cape (There were some fundamental issues with the format of this show)
  • The Chicago Code (Could not get into this from the start)
  • The Closer
  • The Event (The biggest problem with this show was the amount of talking and the poor characters)
  • The Gates
  • The Good Guys
  • The Oprah Winfrey Show
  • The Paul Reiser Show (Not at all funny)
  • The Suite Life on Deck
  • The Whitest Kids U’ Know
  • The Whole Truth
  • Tracey Ullman’s State of the Union
  • Traffic Light (I liked but never loved this series)
  • True Beauty
  • Tyler Perry’s House of Payne
  • Undercovers (I really wanted to like this but there was no tension in the story, making it surprisingly dull for a spy show)
  • United States of Tara
  • V (It had its ups and downs but it was too passive considering the genre)
  • Working Class

Smallville and Friday Night Lights are in their final season as well, though their cancellations were not based on ratings so much as a decision made prior to the season’s run. Fox is apparently testing it on a new night, so it may depend on the numbers there. More news is sure to come.

What do you think of the shows canceled?

One Response to “Canceled Shows 2011”

  1. massage Says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!


Leave a Reply

