Better With You

I had the chance to watch the pilot episode for this show on a flight a couple of weeks ago. When I first heard about this episode, I was excited. I like Joanna Garcia (though I’m not sure why) and even though she’s always in a comedy, her characters all have some variety (pregnant teenage daughter, smart Ivy League grad who becomes a babysitter…).

Having watched the pilot, I am less excited. The premise: Older sister Maddie has been dating Ben forever but they’ve made the “valid life choice” to not get married. Impulsive younger sister Mia announces that she is getting married to and having a baby with Casey, her boyfriend of seven weeks. Their parents, Vicky and Joel, are surprisingly happy about it, considering they don’t seem to be too thrilled with Ben. Maddie is less than thrilled.

In all honesty, I don’t really love the premise of the show so that makes it harder to love right off. Once I saw the pilot, I liked it even less. I didn’t laugh or even really smile at any jokes made or even feel curious about what might happen next. I don’t particularly think this is worthy of the ABC comedy block, though it does fit in terms of family comedies (Modern Family, Cougar Town, and The Middle all revolve around families).

One Response to “Better With You”

  1. sarah Says:

    I also like Joanna Garcia, but really her blonde hair and her role of Cheyenne was her best work out of anything I have seen her in….but man, I am going to check this out, but it sounds sooo disappointing…the plot seems pretty lame too. I mean really , having a baby with someone you dated for 7 weeks(unless it was an accident)? Let’s get real here. I don’t watch any of the other ABC shows, but have heard good things about all of them…I’ll let you know what I think next week!


Leave a Reply

