Caprica

I was hesitant to try this series, largely because I haven’t seen any of Battlestar Galactica and although this series is able to stand on its own, I know there are things I am missing, small details and hints from the show. That’s part of the fun of prequels, seeing how the things we already know came about. That being said, I decided to try this series anyway, because I’ve seen so much about it and I got curious. (It helps that part 1 of the first episode was free on iTunes.) Plus, there are so few sci-fi series staying on TV that I’m on the lookout for new ones.

I’ve seen the first four episodes of the show so far and I’m a little torn. On the one hand, there’s a lot of interesting ideas getting thrown around, which is a staple of sci-fi shows and part of what is so fascinating about those shows. They enable you to examine things that are relevant to today’s times but in a different light. The questions that Caprica brings up about religion, revenge, artificial intelligence, culture, and mourning are worth examining and the show does a good job of it. At the same time, the characters need a little more depth. It would have been nice to get to know the real Zoe a little better before she was replaced by her Avatar as it would have been nice to get to know the other characters before seeing them all go through grief. We don’t know what’s been lost so the sympathy for them is more generic “it’s sad to lose a family member” than it is caring for them specifically. I feel sorrier for Tamra, lost in the virtual world than I do for some of the “real” characters. Of course, the question of reality and what it means to be a live are part of the point of the series so maybe that’s how it should be in some ways.

I still feel like I’m missing something. I know that there are characters who are descendants of the ones we are watching and I don’t know which ones they are or who they become, but I haven’t found a good way to watch Battlestar (without having to rent the billions of episodes in the series) and I don’t really want to read a summary of the show either. I guess I will have to keep looking but for now I think Caprica is worth the time to watch.

It’s early in the show still so now is the time to catch up. Caprica’s ratings have pretty much sucked so far but there’s been no word of cancellation yet so maybe they’ll bring it back for another season.

Leave a Reply

